Discourse (the forum software) is copying internet images without citing them

I am NOT an expert on copyright infringement laws… but, I thought that if you used an image you found on the internet that you are supposed to cite the source material.

In my latest post I used 3 images from the internet (the 2nd, 3rd, 4th images in the post)…
http://forum.honeyflow.com/t/ant-moat-version-2-because-1-was-terrible/6313

When I wrote the post, I simply copy and pasted the link to the image’s URL. Which, explicitly cites the source material.

BUT!!! A few minutes later, discourse copied the 3 internet images over to the flow server and used a copy of the image in the post without providing a citation to the source material. Correct me if I am wrong, but, I believe that this is not an appropriate way (i.e. not legal) for discourse to behave.

Perhaps it should leave the original link, but I don’t know if you have ever had the frustrating task of trying to find information only to find that while Google still thinks the information is out on the web it is in fact nowhere to be found, or you look up a thread on a forum only to find that the links are dead. This way the forum preserves all the information needed to remain whole.

In theory this is also the proper way to do things as you are not leeching bandwidth from another server ever time someone loads your post. I have seen several sites remove external link permissions because of this. Bandwidth can be expensive.

I agree with everything you wrote.

(1) They should copy the image.
(2) They should hyperlink the image to its original location

If the link breaks over time, that is ok, they still covered their arses by providing the original hyperlink.