G'Day from Brisbane Bayside

Hi All,

We’ve recently built our full flow hive and are completely new to beekeeping. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, particularly from any locals. Our five kids are excited to now have ‘thousands of pets’ and their very own Queen Bee-yonce.

Good luck with your beekeeping adventure. I am also new to beekeeping and find this forum very helpful. We have 3 children who have been fascinated by the bees and willing participants in hive inspections etc. I intend to put photos and videos up of my progress. Cheers Paul

1 Like

Thanks Paul :slight_smile:

We’re finding it all a bit overwhelming but are excited about the experience and learning together with the kids!

welcome, I am new here also but it seems friendly enuff,

lots to learn and very interesting and important topic to learn also.

See if you can find a local beekeeping group and get some lessons. The contact with experienced beekeepers is invaluable. Don’t put your flow super on your bees till they have 5/6 frames packed with brood. Don’t believe everything you see on YouTube. Have a look at Michael Bush’s website

1 Like

Thanks Dee! We’ve been to a couple of meetings with our local group - unfortunately none of them have a flow hive but they’ve been very informative.

Don’t worry about that. The flow frames are a method of extracting the honey. What you learn from your local group is how to look after the bees. Anything else…flow-wise you will probably find here.
Enjoy your bees.

1 Like

Hi,

Where about on the bayside are you (I live in Hemmant)? I go to the following bee club and a few people there have flow hives.

Bayside Amateur Beekeepers Society
The club meets at 7.30pm every third Thursday of the month at Redland IndigiScapes
17 Runnymede Road CAPALABA 4157.