Hello from Pennsylvania

Am I the first to post from PA??

I am new to beekeeping and have taken online courses, watched YouTube videos, read books and have found a Mentor (non Flow Hive) to help me in my first year. I have my two Flow Hives and I am waiting for my Flow Frames to arrive. My Mentor is providing me with my nucs.

Building a bear fence as soon as ground thaws.

Cowgirl,

Sounds like your on the right path. Actually not much difference between Flows n other langstrothā€™s ā€¦ Only the harvest honey super is different. Does your mentor run single or double brood boxes ? Your set up (Flow-hive) has only single brood box. I am guess your mentor will guide you in that. Iā€™m buying an extra cedar brood super from the company that makes Flow-hives out here on the West Coast.
I am running double broods out here east of Seattle n my Nucā€™s will arrive mid April. I am looking excitedly at returning to beekeeping this Spring. Good luck n enjoy !
Gerald

Hi there,

If you want to buy matching supplies, and start with a double deep (which you probably need in your area), you can get the right box from here:
http://www.beethinking.com/collections/parts-accessories/products/langstroth-deep-cedar-hive-box?variant=454238661
If you have any questions, their customer service is excellent.

Where in PA are you? I am a beekeeper in Southeastern PA and am trying to see who has a flow hive locally

1 Like

Looks like there is one more ā€œbassā€ in the Lehigh Valley. How far are you from chester county?

I am from Franklin county PA. My flow hives are suppose to ship in April. I have some regular hives ready incase the flows are late. My bees show up in May.

1 Like

Iā€™m 20 miles south of Philadelphia on the Jersey side. I sell queens and nucs starting in mid-late May.

Iā€™m here to say welcome to the forum.