Hi from Australia

Hi everyone. I am from Melbourne Australia and have had hives for several years but am still pretty much a novice. I have friends who tell me everything to do so this forum will be great. I can share my mistakes too. Looking forward to harvesting honey without classifying each rob by how many stings I get!!!

13 Likes

Hi I’m from Mullumbimby on the far North Coast of NSW. I’ve had a bees nest for 20 years in a camphor laurel tree and that’s about as much contact as I’ve had with beekeeping. I want to build my own hive and encourage bees from the camphor laurel to move in.

8 Likes

Hi All, I’ve never kept Bees before, but thought the Flow Hive was the best thing for a beginner.
I have got my nuc and building up the brood box in anticipation of receiving the Flow Hive.

3 Likes

Hi we have a property in Tasmania. I am a complete novice. Before I get my hives I wish to learn from you all. I am in a wheelchair so it will be interesting to see how I can have bees and look after them without help, ie how to check hives easily, what kind of stands, footings etc . Any tips are very welcome.

1 Like

Hello to all,
I also from Melbourne, Australia. My family use to keep bees in suburban Box Hill in the 80’s and we would reap 80 kg of honey a year. Unfortunately our neighbours complained and we had to remove all 4 hives. Now that I am planning to move to the country I can’t wait to start this family tradition again. It’s been a long time but I am looking forward to the craft. I will join a local beekeepers club to make sure I get things right as well as use this forum to discuss issues.

2 Likes