Hive Stability in wind

Hi All

I’m Jeff from the UK.

Just received my basic hive yesterday and have constructed it and begun treating it. ( still awaiting the Flow Hive innards to arrive from Australia.)

My concern is that as the WRC hive seems very light and I wonder what I should do in case of winds as it seems like it would easily blow over in a heavy wind.

I am totally new to bee keeping and would appreciate any advise and experiance

You have several choices, but the simplest is to put your hive on a palette or a couple of breeze blocks, then feed a ratcheting strap through the heavy palette or blocks and fasten it over the top of the hive. Even simpler, but less secure is to put some bricks on the hive roof to weigh it down. Once the bees have had a chance to propolis the inside of the hive, it will be pretty well glued together in any case. :wink:

1 Like

Thank you dawn,

The strap method is what I was thinking so thank you for reassuring me.

There is an article here with a picture half way down that shows you the kind of concept. The photo shows a metal strap, but most beekeepers actually use the normal fabric straps - they are plenty strong enough:

Dawn

Haha Pretty ugly but I guess it gets the job done.

We had some bad winds recently which blew a fence down but probably nothing as strong as they are speaking of in the article.

As you said when the bees are in for a while should be ok

I haven’t decided where to locate them yet but will try and have them behind a wind break.

I have a project over the next week to paint 4 breeze blocks, and decorate them with stenciled bees and flowers. I will take a picture when it is done. :blush: