Honey, no brood

Ok I’m pretty new to this, my second year. I was going to do a split today and popped open the two brood boxes to discover lots of honey, no brood, just a handful of drone brood. I saw some supersedere cells (not sure if I’m correct) I think. There were built out cells on the sides of a couple of frames and hanging queen cells on the bottom of a couple of frames. All were open (empty) except for one. I didn’t see a queen but I have never seen the queen. I’m colour blind so I think I’m a little challenged that way.
Anyway, I couldn’t do a split because I couldn’t find any brood cells but I did find a couple of frames with pollen. So I added another brood box (now have three) because most of the frames seemed full. I also put the flow super on top with a queen separator because obviously the bees are bringing in honey but the queen is either gone or I don’t know what…?
My question is should I buy another queen or two and do a split with two different queens. I bought a second flow box expecting to be able to do that this year. The hive seems strong with lots of bees, lots of drones but no queen.

Hi Ron…I wonder if there were any eggs?

I actually wasn’t looking for eggs but I did look at a lot of cells and didn’t see any eggs. Did see pollen and honey, capped and uncapped.

Ron- I wonder if the hive has made a new queen but she is yet to lay eggs? Perhaps you were inadvertently inspecting between the old queen being active, and before the new queen has had a chance to lay?

Could use a picture but if you had queen cells like this : It looks like a peanut still in the shell; I’ll say they swarmed and close up the hive and check back in 2 weeks.

1 Like

Couldn’t there be a recently hatched queen - spending time out of the hive on mating flights?

1 Like

Could be. Many times she goes around and kills rival queens in their cells but not always like in afterswarms.

Your colony has swarmed and chilli 's advice is spot on.