Honey only in second brood box

Hi all, total newbie here. About 5 weeks ago, I placed a second brood box on top of the first. After about two weeks, I found they were doing nothing with the second box so I did some reading and sprayed a bit of sugar water on the frames of the second box (note - I bought the second box locally and it has plastic foundation frames). Two weeks later they were building comb and storing a bunch of honey in the second box but no brood. Last weekend I inspected the first brood box and it looks pretty good. There are larva present but in truth I’m terrible at seeing the eggs. Still only honey stores in the second box. Is this normal? I’m having trouble finding any info on this.

I’ve still been feeding the bees sugar water, although not as consistently. I live in Northern California.

Honey in the second brood box is a good thing. When there is nothing in bloom, they will eat their way up there, then, when the blooms return, they will brood their way back down and back-fill it with honey again and we will all be a year older.

2 Likes

Great! I was hoping that would be the answer. Thank you so much!

1 Like

…but the first brood box is business as usual right; brood, pollen, honey?

Yes, I took a look last week and all looks good. I’m not very good yet at seeing eggs but there were plenty of larva and all the comb is built out on every frame. I saw no evidence of queen or swarm cells.

1 Like

Do you have winter i.e. days in the 50’s nights in the 30’s…and how long?

Yes we do. There is a a lot of coastal influence here - I would say 3-4 months probably it gets into the 30’s at night. That is a guess.

Ok, don’t forget to take care of the mites well in advance of winter. You want the bees that are responsible for raising the winter bees to be as mite-free as possible. If those bees are sick with viruses they can’t raise the optimal crop of winter bees.

For me in New Jersey, I’ll deal with the mites in mid-July.

1 Like