Mornington peninsula bee people?

Mornington peninsula victoria beekeepers? Love to connect with others interested in the flow hive.

Hello…very old thread I know but I am just starting out with a Flow Hive on the Mornington Peninsula so would be interested in meeting anyone else locally. Thanks! Mike

Hi mike. Yes love to have someone else to touch base with. I’ve had mine since march but am just about to use the “flow” bits in the next few weeks. Very excited to see how it all goes! Have you been to a Southside beekeepers mtg? I’m in red hill. Cheers. Becca

1 Like

I’m also on the Mornington Peninsula. Mount Martha area. I have had my Flow Hive for a year now and would love to catch up with others in my area.

1 Like

yes me too! have you harvested any honey yet? I’m going to put my flow on hopefully next week- just need this wind to settle!

Hi Beccabee,
No, have nor harvested honey from flow frames but took one ordinary frame out which yielded well.
Good luck with flow frames! I coated mine with wax, but the bees still seem unenthusiastic. Think it’s the cold plastic.
Let’s keep in touch.

I’ve been helping a friend out with his traditional hive and he’s got some good yield at the moment. I’ve heard that bees don’t always like the plastic in the cooler climates. I haven’t been to a Southside meeting yet but I feel it’s definitely something I should do. My nuc should be arriving within the next few weeks so it’s very early days for me. I’m in Frankston South…so please keep me posted as I feel very new to all of this!

Hi there,
Have your bees arrived yet?

Hi…I’ve just heard that my nuc is ready so I may collect it this week or at the weekend