SHB Jeff Willard Neverwet Flange Solution

We had a SHB problem this past summer/fall and I followed the excellent advice from the flow hive video about using picnic table cloth. It worked great at reducing SHBs in the hive. But, I may have stumbled onto a better solution. There are several videos on Youtube by Jeff Willard about using aluminum strips painted with Neverwet around the bottom board of the hive. I haven’t seen any discussion about this on the forum. So, I thought I’d post this. I am new to beekeeping, but his idea seems sound. As long as the hive is sealed up, the only place those beetles can get in is through the entrance. If the entrance is lined with something they can’t grip, they can’t get in.
Here are some of his videos:

I went ahead and modified a bottom board with these flanges for my hive. Any thoughts?

1 Like

As he correctly states, “beetles fly”, so while they may not walk up the never wet flange they can fly up to the frames instead inside the hive. Same goes for the entrance, and if the beetles can’t get a grip then the bees won’t be able to get a grip. Its an interesting concept, keen to hear how it goes for you.

I know there is a lot to watch in those videos and he doesn’t cover all aspects in each video. Though, in one of the videos he states that hive beetles do not fly inside the hive and bees do. So, seems it should work.

I told a mentee to take a vacation from worrying about beetles after repeatedly telling him to stop worrying about them. He eventually took my advice & stopped worrying about them & like me, he doesn’t use any traps. The trick is to keep the worker population strong & eliminate any large areas of drone comb out of the brood. It is that simple.

3 Likes