Sugar Mix, Wax or Both in Honey Super?

Hi Folks- My first time posting on here…read a lot but never have posted. I’m in my 3rd year of Bee Keeping but first year with Flow. I’m in Eastern Nebraska and I added my Nuc in mid-April and added the 2nd Brood Box when the first was at or above 80% full. My 2nd brood box has taken off extremely well and I’m ready to add the Honey Super.
My question, (which I see has been answered in a variety of ways) is:

If I just spray the plastic frames with 1:1 to mixture will that draw the bees up…or is adding wax a definite way to go? Has anyone had success not using the mix or wax? I don’t have wax available and would have to purchase some, which I’m hesitant to do? Thoughts?

1 Like

Hi @Sven. You will surely find a bit of extra wax or burr comb in your 2 brood boxes. Just scrape off the top of your frames and press some bits of wax into your flow frames. Just a bit here and there. I prepared a quarter cup of sugar water and brushed it randomly on some frames. A little bit goes a long way. No need to melt and roll I found. The bees were in the frames straight away.
You are always better off not to introduce any bee products that are not from your own hive.

2 Likes

Hi Webclan- Thank you for the suggestion! You are correct, I believe I do have some extra in the brood boxes I can use. I was thinking I would have to do the melt/roll technique. I’ll put your suggestion to work straight away!

3 Likes

Just going by experiences of some people I know around my area, you shouldn’t need to do anything.

2 Likes

Sven,