Wax moth larva?

Saw this creature on the white board that slides under the shb wire trap at the base of flow hive. Is this a wax moth larva? It’/ dead now btw

Yes. If you find more, sell them as bait to fishermen :wink:

1 Like

I had a good day with my bees today -unlike last fortnight which was a bit traumatic for both the bees and me. The hive seems to have survived my care and there are lots of bees. Not much honey yet.

I found a grub on the corflute on Wednesday and again on Thursday and a moth in there this morning. Needless to say they too are a bit dead now.

How do you manage them?

Hiya @BeeShack, a strong colony will keep them in check and it sounds like you have that so don’t be too concerned. My Fh with the screened bottom board has often had grubs on the coreflute like yours which is why I’m not a fan of them. They may be good for shb of which I have no experience with, but I see them as an entry for the moth even top slotted. Now my colony in the Fh is booming I don’t see grubs on the coreflute when I check. Come winter when the population decreases I expect to see them again.

1 Like

Hi Skeggley, I thought the corflute was good because it allows me to monitor the hive without opening the brood, especially as neebee. But see your point, finding a live moth on the corflute was a suprise.

Do you find grubs on the corflute hive or hive with fixed bottom board?

I do have SHB -it came with the nuc - and i’m working to control it. I’ve a few bettle traps that i’m using and will keep experimenting to find a bottom entrance trap on the corflute and also on my planned second hive which will have a fixed bottom. On my fixed bottom board hive i’ve reduced the width of the entrace by 60% and my increase the height by 5mm so as to allow for a SHB trap. What do you think?

1 Like