Wintering the Flow Hive in Perth Western Australia

Hi,
I want to know what the experienced Flow Hive Beeks do with their hives over winter? Perth winters are very mild so I am curious on what we need to do.
We had planned on leaving the super on, with 3-4 full frames of capped honey for them to have over winter, but after reading all the different wintering ideas on this forum I am very confused. Qx on or off? Swap brood box to be on top? Remove super?
What worked last year?
We usually have lots of things flowering over winter, and rarely get frost.
Looking forward to ideas.

I put a cover board under the super last year. The idea was they would move the honey down into the brood box. They didnt.

I’d leave it on with the QX. I dont think you need to worry about the bees clustering in the super. I rrckon thr queens keep laying through winter here but some more experienced people may have better advice.

3 Likes

I am just getting started and live in a region that does get significant winters. Have you seen the videos just released by Frederick Dunn on You Tube?

He left the super on top and removed the queen extractor. The bees moved up, ate the honey, then the queen started using the plastic cells as brood space. I believe he is on the east coast in the United States.

I checked the FAQ for Flow and the current material still suggests leaving the super on top. But after this, I am not sure that is a good idea unless you want to ruin a lot of equipment. Check out the video. Very detailed. I don’t have a solution. I was hoping to find one here. Maybe this post will generate some really good discussion this 2017 spring and summer so there is a reasonable consensus by Fall?

There is a very simple solution: don’t use flow frames without a queen excluder.

Flow have always recommended using a queen excluder with their frames. Mr Dunn says he is not beekeeping for honey- so I don’t understand why he uses flow frames at all?