Transparent Hive Mats - Brilliant Idea From a Newbee

A lady (a complete newbee) purchased a colony from me. I showed her the hive mats I used. Yesterday she came back to pick up her bees & showed me a piece of clear flexible plastic & asked me if I thought it would be ok. I said it would be, so she gave me that piece. Later on I thought how brilliant it will be because beetles hide under the mats. I’ll be able to see them & squash them with my hive tool before I remove the mats.

8 Likes

brilliant for you- and the bees- but maybe not so brilliant for those beetles :wink:

3 Likes

Thanks Jack, it’s so simple. I hope the beetles don’t scurry as soon as I remove the lid. The bees normally put propolis around them, so I should be right.

I’m going to take some to the two hives at my doctor’s place where I regularly find literally hundreds of beetles on every inspection. Most of them scurry before I get a chance to kill many.

PS @Semaphore Jack, we recently got home from exchanging the mats in those 2 hives. Wilma came to photograph the beetles I’m talking about. The photos don’t do it justice because the beetles scurry too fast. This first photo shows how I use a couple of smaller mats to trap some of the beetles.

This next photo shows the mat removed from the first hive.

This is the second hive.
DSC00598
I squashed a couple of beetles under the clear plastic before replacing the lid. It’ll be good to take a look in a couple of weeks after the bees have re-coralled them & placed propolis around them.

2 Likes

wow Jeff- I am so, so glad those damn beetles are not here in Adelaide yet (hopefully never but it seems inevitable that they will get here). Does that many set a hive back a lot? I imagine they must? It seems on average you have better conditions for bees and your hives are more productive- this year it has been a struggle to just to keep hives going here in adelaide- I wonder how much worse things might be if we had to contend with beetles?

2 Likes