Flow Hive with Raccoons?

Hi all!
From Ohio and have alot of raccoons in my area( I know b/c of my 2 trail cameras)
I’m new to bee keeping, so I’ve read that by elevating hive 18"-20"( like with cinder blocks)
That it exposses there tender under bellies and bees will sting them away, but what about at night?( Are bees going to defend there hive at night the same way?)
Hoping to hear some real experience with the flow hive and lots of raccoons for solutions they’ve used b/c I’ve read to put heavy rocks/bricks on top of normal hives but that’s on flat top hives, not angled roof like “flows” have…
Thanks Matt

Hi Matt, I’ve had no experience with rocoons because I live in Qld. Australia. Here in Qld. we also have to elevate our hives on account of cane toads. Bees will still defend their hive during the nighttime. My suggestion for the gable roof would be to ratchet strap it down. You could attach a couple of anchor points onto your hive stand, for example.

PS. it’s a brave animal that enters, or tries to enter a bee hive during the day OR nighttime.
This unfortunate cane toad paid the ultimate price for doing so.

cheers
2 Likes

Welcome to the Flow forum @Hunt4honey. :slight_smile:

I am in southern California, but we also have a lot of raccoons and possums. The possums are the ones who really attack bees on the landing board, so raising the hive by at least 14" helps to expose their bellies and give the bees a chance to warn them off.