Preventative measures

Hi all

two things I’ve been encouraged to do are:

• feed the bees a tonic of 1 part water and 1 part white sugar and the juice of fresh garlic, 2 litres each week for three weeks before winter

• in spring and summer, every three weeks or so move old brood and honey frames (up to two frames in total) up to the honey super, make sure you don’t move the queen too, and replace them with new frames with foundation, that way there will be a rotation of frames

both these measures will help prevent a build up of disease or pests

I’m not sure if this could be done with the Flow hives.

hope that helps

best wishes

2 Likes

I use all medium supers and greatly appreciate the freedom to move frames around from super to super. I keep hearing about the Rose method. It is time I read up on it to understand what it is.
The addition of garlic juice is interesting. How is it beneficial for the bees? I have been keeping bees for 7 years now and am continueing to learn.

Thank you for the link! I will definately follow and watch all the videos.

I don’t know about garlic …would it taint the frames?
Thymol is a good addition to winter feed to help prevent Nosema.
I try not to feed my bees in the autumn but usually get some thymolated syrup in for that very reason.

Hi all

Thanks, Dexter for letting us know what people do when they use different frame sizes.

I think you, Dexter, should keep in mind that this forum has people from around the world. In Australia, I have not seen the rose hive, but only the Langstroth hive. Additionally, I have not seen the short frames used in the honey supers, only the same size frames as in the brood box. In this way frames can be interchanged.