Water and mould in my hive

Hi guys,
Background: I’m really new to beekeeping. My Flow Hive doesn’t arrive until December, but I got started with a package of bees in a standard 8-frame langstroth super and it’s been going great so far.

The last week has been raging with storms where I live - very wet and very wild (my empty gutters overflowed the storm-drains) interspersed with short periods of sunshine. I’ve been keeping an eye on the bees and they have been happily coming out and zooming off to collect pollen while the sun is shining… then hiding away while the storm rages.

And today the sun was shining for long enough - so it was time to go check on them. It’s been two weeks since my first check. The frames were all good in general - 4-5 with comb with lots of what I assume is capped brood (they were capped, I couldn’t see in, it didn’t look like honey), small amounts of pollen on the outside frames and some more cells with tiny eggs… so fairly happy bees.

However. Lots of water ran off the inside of the roof when I pulled it off, and it was covered in smears of mould.

Now, I know this is isn’t good for the bees… but I’m not sure what I can do. Should I wait until another sunny day - then go in with a cloth and dry it up/wipe off the mould? I hear people say that you could use eucalyptus/tea-tree oil to keep the mould back - and I’d be happy to try that, but inside of the roof came painted… and such oils can sometimes strip the paint.

I would be grateful for any advice… :slight_smile:

1 Like