2 month old new hive, no honey in super, need to paint with beeswax?

I’m brand new at this so please bear with me.

Installed a nuc in my new FlowHive2 about two months ago. Queen seems to be doing great as the number of bees seems to be increasing. Lots of busy bees flying around! I’ve not gotten up the nerve yet to remove my Super and inspect the Brood, but so far everything looks like there is lots of activity. The three windows in the Super always show 5-10 bees walking around each of the flow combs, but they are not using the Super to store honey.

I did not paint beeswax on my flow combs, so I’m wondering if that’s what I should do next to encourage the little fellas to use the Super. If so, is there any particular type of beeswax that I should use? Organic? USA sourced only (I’m skeptical of Chinese products)? The expert bee keeper I bought the nuc from is well known in South Louisiana and he offered to give me some beeswax when I purchased the nuc, but we both forgot. Should I go to him for it? He is over an hour away, so I’d prefer to just have product shipped to me if you think that would be ok.

Thanks for your thoughts!

You should really do an inspection to see where the resource level in the brood box is. Supers should not go on hives until the colony has enough resources to make it thru the winter. Seeing you are from Louisiana I imagine that a lot of beekeepers only have one brood box and then add supers after that. Managing the space is something you will learn over time as a beekeeper. If the brood box frames are not 80% full of brood, pollen, nectar then you shouldn’t add the super onto the hive.