A bit of help please

Hello fellow Bee Keepers, I am a newbie and have my first Flow Hive. Put my Nuc into the hive in November 2019. Bees have been doing great.
But I just checked my catch tray at the bottom of the hive and found this… Please can some one tel me what the brown dots are and what is the worm type bug!!
And what can I do about it.
Much apprecaited

1 Like

The blobs look like dropped pollen balls soaked with oil.

There’s a few small hive beetles and the grubs look like the larvae of the Greater wax moth.

Just keep cleaning the tray out every 7-14 days it’s doing its job.

2 Likes

By the position of the legs the grubs are SHB larvae, there are a few SHB dead in the tray as well. The blobs are bits of wax and some pollen also possibly. There is nothing there to be concerned about, especially if your in Blaxland up from Penrith, NSW. If you see more than 10 SHB during your inspections I would but two beetle blaster traps for each level of your hive, the ones that sit between the 1st and 2nd frame in on each side. For a couple of $ each they work great and keep the SHB under control.
A tip, by slowly sliding the tray out you will see a line of bits of wax, that is the frames where bee have emerged and where you will find new eggs and larvae.
Welcome to the forum, lots to read and to get good advice on anything bee keeping. Your going well to still have a hive with the drought and the bush fires last Summer.
Cheers

1 Like

Those two grubs look like they’re about 20mm long, too big to be SHB. They also lack the spines characteristic to SHB and appear to have prolegs which only appear on wax moth.

2 Likes

Thank-you, I was just concerned and my hive is very young, I have a beetle blaster I will put it in.

Thanks Stevo, Its the first time I have seen the grubs, I will have a good inspection to see if I can see any inside the hive.