Are the three big cells emergency queen cells?

We are second year beekeepers from Sydney. We deduced that a hive at a friend’s place had laying workers. This was because there were multiple eggs in single cells, and also lots of multiple eggs in cells above the queen excluder, plus lots of drone cells.

We followed the advice on Michael Bush’s website about laying workers and introduced open brood. The following weekend we found this frame with two sealed and one unsealed larger cell. The cells weren’t there when we inserted the frame of open brood. A link to the photo is below.

It looks like they might be queen cells, but they don’t look like the photos of queen cells you usually see on the net.

It’s a long drive, and we are kind of hoping that they are, so we don’t have to make the trip this weekend. Any opinions?

I’m in my second year too, so dont know heaps but i have seen emergency queen cells and they dont look like this.

Where did you get the open brood from? I would have expected to see lots of capped worker brood on the frame if it had eggs and larvae when you put it in. From the photo it looks like a small amount of capped drones and a few larvae, which makes me think there werent any fertilised eggs in it?

Looks like a lot of drones to me.

Was this a foundationless frame?

1 Like

It is foundationless.

The transferred frame came from a queen-right hive (she was laying last weekend).

When introducing comb you really need some worker cells, looking at that frame I’m not convinced there was much worker brood in it at all, which I’m going to argue is because this frame was foundationless.

You say you inserted this comb a week ago? If it was young brood I would expect there to be far more capped brood on the frame at the one week stage when you took this photo (as Dunc has said). There looks to be a lot of recently hatched brood on this frame.

Is there larva in the cells that aren’t shown in the photo?

1 Like

Laying workers. Ok