Best configuration of boxes

I am new to the whole world of beekeeping… I have been building my own hive that will take 7 flow frames. I ordered a nuc which I expect to get mid spring. I will start with just the brood box until the bees are ready for me to put on the flow super. Because winter where I am is relatively cold I will take the flow super off over winter, then I’m thinking of adding a medium box to have on over winter.

So my question is; when would I put that box on, and where would I put it? I’m guessing if it is mainly for the purpose of extra space for the bees I should put it under the queen excluder? I know my first winter with bees is a while away, but I do like to research everything a lot when I am planning something. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

Hi @Wrenhill,
Welcome to the forum. I did read your previous post regarding getting in touch with local bee keepers. I think geographically @Semaphore is the closest to you that I know of but would have quite a different climate to you. I’m also in SA but possibly 400km away in the SE also with a very different climate.
I’m in total agreeance with you to remove the super for winter for quite a few reasons. If you would like an extra honey super for winter stores I would be filling it first before adding the flow super on top. Leave the QX between the brood box and 1st super. When you do the winter pack down to remove the flow super then also remove the QX.
I would also consider running another full depth super rather than a medium just for the sake of keeping your equipment “standardized”.

The bees population will decline considerably as it gets cooler so it’s not about space just about food stores.

Great that you are asking questions! Best to be prepared well in advance. :+1:

1 Like

I ended up putting an ideal super over each brood box over winter.
With spring just around the corner, it seems to have been a good fit for the bees and the climate here.