Best way and time to replace a queen?

Hi everyone. I’m new to beekeeping and have a couple questions about replacing queens. While attending last month’s bee club meeting, the guest speaker discussed varroa treatments. He wrapped up with talking about the VSH bee strain. Researching them further, I think I want to eventually replace my queens (three colonies) with VSH queens.

1. What is the preferred time of year to replace a queen?

2. What is the most successful way to replace a queen that is still present in the colony?

1 Like

I am assuming you are in the Fall (Autumn), if so, then now is a good time, that way your colony over winters with a new queen and gets a jumpstart for Spring. You will either need to dispatch your old queen or better still, cage her and donate to a worthy cause… such as a facebook friend who’s hive is queenless… Its surprising how many people run into trouble but don’t talk about it, suffer in silence.
Replacing is very simple… best to make your hives queenless before introducing the new queens, that way they readily accept her. Most reputable breeders send her in a cage with a candy end, allows the colony to eat the candy out whilst allowing the scents to mingle for a couple of days.

3 Likes

@Rodderick answered your question pretty well. To add my 2 bobs worth. Do you need to replace the queens? When I started out, I started replacing queens every 12 months, do you know why? Because people told me I should. It didn’t take me long to realize that I was throwing good money away. On a lot of occasions I killed queens in strong colonies & replaced them only for the hives to go backwards. I quickly put a stop to that. I haven’t bought any new queens for about 6 years. Even then I only bought 15 & I was running about 40 hives. Out of the 15, only 8 were successful. I’m happy to let the bees make their own. The one on my profile photo only got started laying the other day. She’s in a flow hive.

4 Likes