Circling bees and loud buzz

Hey there - big newbie here located in Bathurst NSW. We are in Spring and everything is coming alive.

I was out in the garden today and heard this almighty BUZZ coming from over near the hive. I went over to have a look and about 5 metres from the hive there is a massive circling over bees and what seems to be 1000’s of bees. Just circling and buzzing very loudly.
This has not happened before - any ideas what is going on?

1 Like

You have just witnessed swarming. Did you see where the bees settled?

3 Likes

It looked like it was about 5 metres from the hive itself, I thought they would set up a bit further than that from the original hive

1 Like

I agree with @fffffred, most likely you saw swarming behaviour. Either a “practice swarm” or the full blown thing. Bees often practice once or twice, before they actually decide to leave the hive. When they swarm, they rarely go far at first. They find a safe spot outside the hive, usually (but not always) 10-20ft above ground level, and collect there for an hour or two. Once they are sure that the queen is with them, they launch themselves further away, eventually pausing until they find a new home.

4 Likes

Thank you. I’ve gone out to check and have found a whole bunch of bees on the tree, about 5 metres from the hive. So this hasn’t happened to me before -
a) do i try and harvest the honey that is the hive now? It looks pretty stocked.
b) will the bees left behind in the hive raise up another queen?
c) anything i need to do?

Firstly if the swarm is still there in the morning try and get another beekeeper to try and catch them. If they have moved have a good look around locally in trees especially where there are possum boxes bird boxes etc as these are places they may have found and try to recover them.