Cluster of Bees

I’m very new to beekeeping. We received our first bees in Jan/Feb and my husband has been doing all the inspections/hive maintenance up to this point. I first noticed many of our bees were outside the hive earlier this week and when I researched it, it seems that they are bearding and it’s nothing to worry about (it’s late June in Tampa, pretty hot these days).

However, when I was observing the bees today, I noticed there seems to be a clump on bees near the entrance. There does not appear to be any fighting and the other bees are just going around this clump; none of the bees appear to be agitated and there are no frantic movements.

I haven’t inspected the hive, though I’ll have my husband check it out soon, maybe tomorrow. I wanted to see if anyone might have an idea as to what this could be? Thank you!!!

1 Like

And here’s another picture (as I’m new and apparently can’t post more than one at a time…):roll_eyes:

And a third pic

1 Like

I’m a new beekeeper to so not very experienced yet but have done a lot of reading haha. That’s a lot of bees! I know they can do something called balling where they cluster around another bee or enemy that they are trying to get to overheat it. Also, I’m having a hard time telling from the picture but do you have an entrance reducer in there?

You know, I was wondering if they might be something “bad” under all those bees. I kept trying to look, but I just kept seeing more bees at each angle I checked. I also wasn’t wearing any protective gear, so I didn’t want to get too involved.

No, I don’t have an entrance reducer, but after I’ve been doing all this reading, I’m wondering if maybe we need to do that. It gets pretty warm here (Tampa, FL) - we’ve been having 90degree days, so I didn’t want to make it too difficult for the bees to keep the hive at a comfortable temp.

I’ll check again tomorrow to see what might be happening/what happened during the night.

Thanks!!