Compost Bin Infested with SHB

Hello All,

My compost bin was absolutely filled with adult small hive beetles, and also maturing SHB cocoons. Every handful of compost had 3 to 4 adult beetles in it. There was no SHB larva though.

My compost bin sits 10 - 15 feet away from my Flow Hive. So far, the beehive seems to be doing fine. My hive is strong, with a booming population of worker bees.

It just seems stupid to harbor a SHB factory a short distance from my hive. My bees are my 1st priority, so earlier today, I put my entire compost pile into air-tight bags. (The compost was finished composting, and garden-ready.) I was thinking I’d wait several months before opening the air-tight bags.

Does anyone here compost? Have you had these issues? How can I have a beehive, and simultaneously have a compost bin?

In the past, before I had a beehive, I was only visited by good compost bugs, like solider fly larva. This is my first year with a Flow Hive, and the first year I have HUNDREDS of SHB in my compost.

All thoughts and advice are much appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

Are you sure they are hive beetles? I ask because there are other small black beetles that look like hive beetles.

Is there something in the compost bin that would attract hive beetles? If so that would account for the infestation.

In relation to the sealed plastic bags: You probably only need to put them in the hot sun for one day. That’s what works for me with buckets containing hive beetle larvae.

1 Like

That is a good thought. They love rotting fruit… :wink:

2 Likes

How do you distinguish between SHB and other related beetles?

1 Like

Personally, I take a photo and then search online. Here is one from my hives. It was the first one reported on the coast in San Diego, according to our local inspector when I sent him the photo. He sent out an alert afterwards: