Effort And Produce Of A Flow Hive

Hi Folks,

I live in Tasmania am a total novice to beekeeping but am interested in buying a Flow Hive. Can anyone tell me how much effort it takes to maintain one of these hives and how much honey they produce? (which I know is like asking how long is a piece of string but I just need a very rough estimate!).

My wife refuses to let me have a hive at home so I was thinking of asking some retired bee keepers I know who might be interested in sharing a Flow Hive that live near me. They previously gave it up because of the effort of maintaining a traditional hive but I think they may be interested in this new seemingly easier system.

Thanks,

Andy

P.S. I was very inspired to keep bees after reading Bill McKibben’s book ‘Oil and Honey’.

Hi Andy, there is still the usual maintenance of keeping a hive no different to the way the old timers would have managed them. i.e. brood manipulation for swarm control, regular inspections for disease management and hive health (in spring, summer & autumn this could be twice a month), frame management (replacing old frames every couple of years)
Where this hive is different is through the harvesting of honey. No longer will you need all that expensive extraction equipment and bee-proof room while the de-capping and extraction takes place. How much honey can be produced really depends on where you are, I have heard that the Leatherwood when in bloom will fill a super with 25 kilos of honey in a week but chances are you don’t live in a leatherwood forest.
As for a hive in the backyard, you are allowed between 2-4 per backyard depending on your state. If you select your bees for docility then having them in the suburbs is not an issue and your neighbours will only know you have bees when you tell them (if you choose to do so).

Thanks for your reply Rodderick, I live in suburban Hobart but my friends live close to the bush. I’ll ask them what they think as my wife is adamant we’re not keeping bees!