Flow frame alignment

Hi, Im new to beekeeping and just a bit worried about the alignment of the frames in my flow super. The bees have already taken to it - so would prefer to know sooner rather than later if I need to change the frames? Ive put the key in the tops of all to make sure they are properly set, but still looks a bit wonky. Will this cause me issues, or is it okay to leave as is for the bees to wax up?
Thank you in advance
Regards
Chris

1 Like

By wonky do you mean the cells don’t appear to be closed? Is it the whole frame or just seen in a portion of the frame? I have heard of this happening sometimes, but certainly not often. The fix is to open and close the frame several times.
A photo would be a help so we can see what you are seeing, you can add a photo after you save it on your computer by clicking on the 7th icon from the left, the bar with the upward arrow then select the pic and upload it.
Might be worth saying where you live in Australia so that someone who knows Flow Hives and in your area might offer to have a look. I’m at Coolum Beach on the Sunshine Coast. Maybe also check out your local bee group for someone who has a Flow Hive who might have a look with you.
Welcome to the forum Chris, you will find it full of fiendly people happy to help with advice. Cheers

Thanks so much Peter. Posted the pic up above.

That is aligned in the closed position Chris, each cell is split vertically and the bees will fill in the gaps with bees wax before they begin storing honey in them. have you brushed on some melted bees wax over the ends of the cells so the bees will be attracted to the comb and use if to fill in the gaps. That will really get the girls busy in preparing the Flow frames. Plastic isn’t something that gets them interested even if it looks like honey comb. The smell on bees wax and it being on the comb will work wonders and get them sealing up the cells much quicker than leaving it ‘in the raw’. The pic is excellent.
Cheers