Flow hive inner lid and base board

I am new to bee keeping, I am in Adelaide South Australia.I just populated my flow hive with another hive (8 frames) , just wondering should I block off the hole in the inner lid to stop bees going up into roof space? I have a small block of wood over it at the moment which keeps the girls down in the flow frames. Next question , there is a piece of corrugated cardboard in the base, do I slide it in bottom space or top space, I assume bottom space for summer and top space for winter?
Any help appreciated
Jeff

Blocking that hole with a piece of wood,or screen, does help prevent them from sometimes building comb in the roof cavity. They don’t always do this, but if they do, it can be quite difficult to fix!

In regard to the bottom corflute, you’ll want to leave it in the bottom slot most of the time, but when harvesting move it to the top slot so that any honey that leaks is accessible to the bees through the screen.

Best,
Matt

Cheers, I am a first timer with nerves to match!

Hi Matt
With our hot Spring Down Under, I noticed that having the corflute in the bottom position, I had the bees bearding outside. I have totally removed the corflute and find that the bearding has stopped. Seems as though it is not always necessary ??
Max

I can’t speak from own experience yet but I know that all beeks in the club I joined here keep their hives open at the bottom almost year round apart from a mesh to keep out mice. Here being Germany so your climate is warmer than ours. They do put in boards for a few days or weeks when acid treating for varroa mites.
There’s different approaches for the winter, one beek said he kept it open because the inside of the hive got to humid when it was in, others leave it in after the winter acid treatment.
But in the spring and summer leaving it out is most likely a good idea to relieve your girls of the extra stress to keep the hive cool.