Has my hive swarmed

Hi beekeepers

I was a bit late doing my first spring inspection (did it today) as the weather has been either too cold or too windy. Perhaps I was a bit too conservative about judging these factors.

Anyway the hive is packed with bees and they have built comb in every available space including the roof (which I had the inner cover hole blocked but has some how come open )

I found 6 queen cells which where open and have what looks like snot inside. In the worker cells I found eggs in some of the cells, some small and large larvae and a lot of capped brood and drone cells.

My question is has my queen already swarmed, died or gone walkabout or is she about to swarm? I couldn’t find her but I’ve only found her once as I’m still a newbie at spotting her.

I put the super on top and closed up the hive. I was thinking of moving the frames with queen cells into a nuc box to start a 2nd hive. But thought it was probably safer if I left them in the main hive incase the original queen had already gone.

Did I do the right thing. Please comment with your thoughts they will be very much appreciated.

I would think that they have not swarmed yet, but that they are about to.

You have eggs and small larvae so that confirms that the queen was there at least three days ago. The queen cells are not closed and they don’t have the appearance of a cell from which a virgin queen has emerged (a very neat circular cut at the end).
The snot that you describe is probably royal jelly.
You don’t have much time to act. The colony typically swarms with the old queen when the first new queen cell gets sealed, assuming weather conditions are good.

Read this. its the best guide for your situation.

1 Like

Hi Jason, if your hive swarmed you should be the first to know because you’ll see a huge reduction in bee numbers.