Help with understanding my bees' death

Dear all,

I am quite new to bee keeping and I hope someone in this wonderful forum can help me with my bees.

Since April this year (yes, I am THAT new!) I have had a Flow Hive and one Dadant-Blatt hive, both families Carnica (apis mellifera carnica). The bees in the Dadant-Blatt hive have always been a strong family, so hardly any problems there. However, I always found the family in the Flow Hive a bit weaker.
Two weeks ago I prepared the hives for winter, as in the area where I live the temperatures already go well below zero during the night; the sun is strong and quite warm during the day, but is is very cold and humid in these parts now. During the day the highest temperature is around +10 C.
I prepared both the hives with extra food (watered down organic honey).
I went to check the hives today: the Dadant-Blatt family is doing fantastically well, but the family in the Flow Hive is completely dead. DEAD. And I found that the bees had all crammed into the cells, on both sides of the comb. I am posting here some photos of what I found.
I know that weak families often die, that is Mother Nature running its course. What I would like to find out is why the bees crammed into the cells as displayed in the pictures. Were they cold? Were they hungry? They had, however, food in the feeder, so why did they not feed?

I would really be most, most grateful if someone could let me know what went wrong with the bees in the Flow Hive: did I prepare them for winter too soon?

Here are the photos:

Your photos here are sadly classic for colony starvation. You can see that there are no capped stores of honey, and the bees are trying to get every last drop out of the cells.