Hive location, stand, and base

I am a newbie and will be putting my new Flow hive out in the Spring. I live in Kansas City, Missouri where the last date for frost risk is generally May 1st, but in general April is fairly mild and Spring-like. I will be picking up a local package of bees in April. I have chosen a site for the hive where the entrance will be directed southeast (I think this is right).

My questions:

1. Should I use a solid or screened bottom board? If I use a screened board and I have a young/new hive should I completely close the sliding board. Should I move that board in and out depending on the weather forecast and the nightly low temperatures?

2. I plan on putting the hive on cinder blocks with 4 x 4s between the cinder blocks. How far off the ground should the hive be? In other words how much air circulation should there be under the hive?

1. Put “screened bottom board” into search (magnifying glass thingie top right) and you will get a wide range of answers. Choose what you think is right for you.
  2. Height of hive is your call. On this site there are hives on the ground, as high as a metre and everywhere in between. Your regions weather plays a part and how tall, strong you are. Also do a search on “hive height” for more detailed answers.
1 Like

Hmm, that is a tough question. I have used both. Solid bottom boards for more than 10 years, and screened for one year. I am definitely leaning towards solid. The reason is that much less junk accumulates in (or under) the hive, and my bees seem to ventilate it better when the bottom is closed up.

People like screened for Small Hive Beetle (SHB) control and integrated pest management (IPM) of varroa. However, I think it is actually better to achieve both of these without the screen. You will find a wealth of other opinions though, as @busso has indicated. :blush: