🐝 Hives are crazy populated! Need advice, please!

Hi All!

I live north of Chicago. I have two hives I installed in the spring, so this is my first year. Everything has been textbook so far. I have one hive that has two brood deeps and two honey supers and another hive that is two brood deeps and three honey supers. They are all packed! Especially the 2 deep/3honey hive - there are so many bees… I’m worried they will swarm. I know it’s too late to split the hive.

Regarding honey, I took 7 frames out of the bigger one and 3 from the other in late July and they’re all already filled back up! I think they’ll have enough honey stored for winter. They have 30 medium super frames, front and back, almost all capped. On one of the honey frames, they started building comb on TOP of already capped honey!!!

And in the brood boxes, they have honey, pollen, on the outside frames and brood in the center frames. (I was worried at first, I wasn’t seeing many eggs, but finally found them. Is this typical for fall?) To add space, should I add an empty honey super? Also/or, should I take 1 frame out of the brood boxes? (I’ve seen mixed advice on this but they are PACKED.)

Thoughts? Comments? Advice?

I did see mites this week when I was in the bigger hive. I’m going to treat it this weekend with oxalic acid strips. I think I may treat the other to be safe.