How to keep the bees busy

Hi,

I just had a conversation about the flow hive with a bee keeper. He likes the idea, but is concerned about the bees to swarm if they get “bored”. He said (sorry I’m a noob) that the bees must be kept busy otherwise they will start to swarm. So if the combs are pre-made of plastic they might get bored easily. Any hints for me on this topic?

greetings,

Basti

Hey @bastibasti & welcome! I see you’re in Germany and don’t have bees yet - are you planning to start any colonies this season? I believe there are some German beekeepers on this forum, who also have Flow hives.

The beekeeper you spoke to sounds like he hasn’t really seen a Flow super in action, and has taken the general observation that because bees prefer plastic the least for building comb on and expanded it to assume that Flow frames would be less desirable - boring even! :roll_eyes::sweat_smile: to bees. This is a common assumption, that gets reinforced when inexperienced beeks put their brand new Flow super on too early in their eagerness to harvest honey, when there isn’t much nectar flow and/or the population is too low and can neither forage or store such a volume - or too late and their colony has already begun swarm prep! :honeybee::honeybee::honeybee::honeybee::honeybee::honeybee::honeybee::honeybee::running_woman:

It’s important to remember that the Flow super is like any other type of honey super - therefore the same things can happen regardless of what kind of equipment you’re using and it’s more a matter of beekeeper judgement of timing than the ‘system’ itself. Also, it’s been well-established by all the early adopters of Flow that preparing the frames with some beeswax usually does the trick to bring busy bees right to work on them. There is a whole section on this here on the forum, with great pics and video links!