How to winter bees in cold upstate NY using Flowhive

I am a beginner starting with a Flowhive 2 in upstate NY. I am curious about how to winter the bees. I see most remove the Flow Super in winter. Is there enough honey in the brood box for the bees to get through winter? Do you add a 2nd brood box or do you always feed the bees through the winter? If feeding, do you give them dry sugar? Candy? Sugar water feeders would freeze I would think. Thank you for any insight.

Definitely do not leave your flow super on during the winter for a few reasons - the honey will candy and the queen will likely lay eggs in there since you’ll have to have removed the queen excluder.

I overwinter with a single brood box. You can look up the university of Guelph YouTube videos on single brood box overwintering… they’re not far from you geographically or climatologically. Many/most people do add a second brood box and make sure they they are well stocked for winter.

Candy or dry sugar over winter, but only for emergency feed if they are light. The bees won’t take syrup once the temperatures get below about 50°F.

2 Likes

My current lineup of three hives includes a single deep and two deep+mediums. The latter configuration is what works best for me here in southeastern PA near PHILLY!!! GO BIRDS :green_heart::eagle::eagle::eagle:

Ahem, back to beekeeping.

The single was a late split that I didn’t super, and has needed periodic feeding since November. One of the other two has also needed feed, and more frequently because the colony size is larger and because was robbed in September. I have found that Dadant AP23 winter patties are a straightforward and simple way to feed my colonies in winter when needed, because they’re more nutritious than plain fondant and easier to handle & place on the top bars than dry sugar.