Is my hive queenless?

Hi There,

I am a very new beekeeper (based in the Eastern Cape in South Africa), I purchased my first hive three weeks ago.
Upon the first inspection, I have noticed that the brood box consisted of 9 frames, only three of which had comb (which was all grown together across the frame and not straight down as the one frame seems to be broken.)
I tried to look for brood then, but was nervous to break the comb as it kept falling off the frame.
Two weeks later, I checked up on the hive, and already another 4 frames have been filled with Comb and nectar, but still no signs of brood.
I fear that my hive may be queenless. Please see pictures from my latest inspection (of the new comb made) and tell me if you see any resemblance of brood?
Otherwise, I may have to buy myself a queen.

Thanks in advance!

!

Hi @NFOURIE, I’m still a beginner too but have had bees for two seasons. I tried to find eggs or larvae in your photo and could not! From the rest of your post I worry that you received a poor ‘product’ to begin with - only 3 frames with any comb, stuck together and a frame broken. All placed in what I’m guessing is either an 8 or 10-frame brood box, with 6 empties. This isn’t the normal way a nucleus colony is supplied - in most places a nucleus colony, or “nuc”, consists of 5 full frames of drawn comb, at least 3 of which are mainly of brood in various stages from egg, larvae to capped pupae and emerging bees. The other two frames will have mainly honey and pollen stores. Any decent seller would guarantee there is an actively laying queen, and the population of workers/a few drones should be enough to visibly cover all the frames. Nucs are given to customers already placed into smaller boxes that are made to contain just the five frames. You can then transfer those into a regular (8 or 10 frame) brood box, but as you can see even if you only have empty frames to add, there is still a better ratio of bees to space in the box.