Kitsap Washington and a Flow 2

It arrived minutes ago. I have the spot picked out and will be assembling it tonight.
I choose Tong oil because I have some experience with wood finishing and realize it’s a lot of coats.
I get the bees early May. From the advice of several friends, availability, and some study I choose Carniolan.
I’m getting them from Tarboo Valley Bees, a lovely place even more rural than me. They have woodware and supplies too.
So, three weeks to get it assembled, finished, and placed. I should make it.
So, what about raccoons?

1 Like

“So what about raccoons?”. My suggestion would be to construct a physical barrier to keep them away from your hive. What are other beekeepers in your area doing to mitigate raccoons?

1 Like

As long as you make it impossible for them to get the roof off, you will be fine. You can either do that with a ratcheting strap around the hive from top to bottom, or find a way of weighting the lid. You need about 15lb of weight to make it too heavy for the raccoon to lift. Most traditional beekeepers in the US use bricks or a large rock for that. With a gabled roof, that is unstable, so some Flow hive owners use couple of Spanish-style barrel roof tiles, a bit like these:

I also like to have the hive entrance about 14-16" off the ground to deter possums. You can use something as simple as cinder blocks for that.

3 Likes

We have lots of raccoons in this area, but I haven’t had any problems. They probably know they’d get badly stung if they tried to lift any hive lids! Same principle of height re Dawn’s mention of cinder blocks - as long as a critter has to stand up to get close, it exposes its belly as a target :astonished:

2 Likes

Barry, how many coats of Tong oil will you apply to your assembled flow hive? How long to let it dry enough so it won’t bother the bees? i get my flow hive 2+ in a few days and pick up my nuc the 19th of this month. So new to this it isn’t funny.

1 Like