Materials of construction...flow hive

HI there,

am excited about trying this hive, and i know a lot of controversy around it…

I do have one question, and i cant find any comments.
The plastic…i come from a science background and the world is increasingly worried about the leaching form plastics…lots of research shows there is leaching…so with that said…can the plastic contaminate or otherwsie be detrimental to bees. would hate to hurt them , esp after going thru the trouble to start a hive…

dont worry, i want to try it, but am interested in any research that may have been done on this question.
thanks

I am a medical doctor and have done a lot of biological research too (actually a lot of it uses plastics!). Anyhow, I think you should know that the plastic components of the hive are made from approved food-grade plastic, and should not leach or pose any risk of contaminating the honey. Plastic foundation, frames and queen excluders have been in use for many years, and no concerns have arisen from them.

I don’t see any reason to worry about this.

Just my 2 cents’

Dawn

Thanks for the info.

Does anyone have the exact type of plastic used? the BPA issue is really the main issue, it binds with estrogen receptors and some feel this is some of the cause for all the early puberty we are seeing in females. I just wish to know what version of plastic they are using in the construction.

I love this idea overall…i just have realized that so many unintended consequences of things happen, and I would like to feel comfortable that i am making things better, not worse.

THanks again…any comments are welcome

As a former paediatrician, I blame obesity more than BPA for early puberty… :wink:

However, to answer your question directly from the Flow FAQs:
http://www.honeyflow.com/faqs/are-the-flow-frames-made-from-bpa-free-plastic/p/57

Hope that helps.

Dawn