Missed a swarm, darn

My wife just sent me this picture that one of her friends husband posted on FaceBook. It was hanging under their mail box two days ago so I am pretty sure they are gone on their way. I will have to spread the word for people to let me know if they find anymore.

1 Like

Hi @adagna, How do u capture a swarm like that? swarm captures I have seen thus far have been on a brunch and they just shake them into a box.

Thanks.

Steve,

Put your bee suit on n gloves, move a cardboard or hive box close. ( I might add a sheet or old blanket on the ground ) then scoop handfuls into the box. When you have most in the box watch n wait. If you got her Magesty the rest workers will quickly march in too. Might take an hour but you’ll have your swarm … Try it … You’ll like it ! Done this few times before when I was a kid/teen beekeeper Gerald

1 Like

Interesting @Gerald_Nickel , I’m new to all of this, sounds like a better way then forking out 200 for a hive. Spewing I missed the swarm that was in my street last summer.
Thanks for the advice, I’m gonna be on swarm look out now!

1 Like

Brush as @Gerald_Nickel or a Bee Vac (a useful bit of kit if you are a swarm collector)

Hi Steve, after viewing Adam’s photo, what I would do is hang a frame of brood using a piece of garden tie directly under the letterbox. It wont take long before that frame of brood is completely covered in bees. That is where the queen will most likely end up. After 15 minutes, gently place the frame of brood in a nuk box & put the lid on & place it as close as possible to the letterbox stand. If the queen is in the nuk box, all the bees will go in. If she’s still under the letterbox, the bees will leave the nuk & brood & go back to the letterbox. If that happens, just try again & leave the frame there a bit longer.

3 Likes