New to beekeeping, worried about swarming

Hello!
Tom here. I’m new to beekeeping. Just today I recived my package from Flow, which came with a Flow Hive, Smoker, Beesuit and tools. I’m going to build the Hive tomorrow. Like most people I’ve been spending the past month learning what I can on the internet about beekeeping. There is just one thing that I can’t seem to get my head around how I will solve.

And that is swarming. So I know that the bees can swarm off out of the Hive, and I’ve heard once they have you cannot return them to said Hive. So in the event I see my bees about to swarm/ showing signs of swarming what do I do? So I just have a few questions below:

People suggest splitting the hive to give more room and create a second hive. I’m new to beekeeping with only one hive, so how would I go about doing that?

Another way I’ve seen is to replace the panels of brood with new empty panels, if so what would I do with the panels that have the brood comb in them? Take the broodcomb out and use them again?

And finally I’ve seen that requeening could do the trick, would that be viable for a new beekeeper though?

I am interested to see how people go about this since most of the time I’ve seen around the web to split, but like I stated I only have a single hive so I couldn’t split them anywhere.

I’ve seen that they can swarm out quickly, so I just don’t want to ruin my new hive in the future and I’m happy with everything about keeping the bees just this one thing has been on my mind!

2 Likes

Starting with two hives instead of one really gives you more options…but if that’s not practical, just give it your best shot. It took me two years to just over come the instinct of tensing up when I heard the buzz of bees.

2 Likes