New to Honey Production

Hello everybody :slight_smile:

I am very new to the world of bees and wanted to get as much information as I can on commercial bee keeping before I start, here in Hyderabad, India there aren’t many places that can give me the necessary insight into this matter…

I wanted to know

1. How much honey can a healthy bee hive produce in year?
  2. I have approximately 2 acres of land (I have a fruit tree orchard and plenty of wild vegetation and
    flowers on the property) which is surrounded by other farms located in an agricultural area on
    the out skirts of the city I live in… Would this space be sufficient to keep 20 - 30 hives?
  3. Would it be a good Idea to start with 20 - 30 hives or should I start with a smaller/larger number?
  4. Is it ok to order bees online? and is it safe for the bees to be transported overseas, in case i
    have to order them from another country?
  5. Which month would be the best to set up my bee hives and how soon can I expect my first
    harvest from the time I have set up my hives?

Hi Maxim, first of all you’ll need to study all you can about bee culture & bee keeping. Looking after bees is not everyone’s cup of tea.

How much honey per hive per anum can vary from just a few kilos to 150+ kilos.

What you’re describing sounds ideal for 20-30 hives.

I think you need to start off small & work your way up once you become comfortable with keeping bees.

A quick google search indicates that India has a thriving bee industry. You shouldn’t need to import bees from overseas.

The best time to start beekeeping would be the start of spring, unless you purchase some established hives.

Good luck with your endeavors, cheers

1 Like

Thank you for the info JeffH

and yes I will definitely invest more time to study the bees… still plenty of time till spring :smiley:

1 Like

Could I also add