Newbee with transition to wintering questions

Hello all - This is my first post so forgive me if I break any etiquette or post protocols. Maybe there is already a post on my questions. I appreciate anyone’s advice and thoughts on my particular situation.
I live in the US near Chicago IL, I got my nuc of 5 frames in late June and transferred them into my Flowhive Brood box that holds 8 frames. I knew to wait until the bees filled out the three empty frames before I added the super on top. My last inspection they have only fully filled in one of the 3 and 1/3 of a 2nd frame. One frame is still empty. I believe they are doing well and are happy, of course, I am still learning and taking lots of notes on everything I am observing. They are really storing up goldenrod at the moment as it grows crazy around us. I feel like it is too late to add the super as the temperatures will drop considerably in the next month or two, my question is should I add a second brood box for winter? Or just leave the hive as is and add the super in the spring? How much should I expect the bees to fill out during winter? I don’t want to add to their work to keep hive warm if the extra box isn’t necessary and I don’t want to leave them without enough stores for the winter. What is this newbee to do?

Thanks again for your thoughts!

Probably best to ask your local beekeepers about their set up, one or two brood boxes. In Ohio, which is not far off climate-wise, people go both ways, overwintering in singles or doubles. Some successfully overwinter 5 frame nucs. You’ll want to be sure that if you go forward with a single box that they are absolutely packed to the gills with stores, you will likely need to feed unless your goldenrod and aster flow is substantial, which it sounds like it might be.