Not sure what happened

Hi, I’m a newbie! On May 20, 2018, the Bee’s in one of my hives all vacated the hive for 10 minuets just flew around near the hive, then the bee’s calmed down and returned to the hive. I really was a sight to see, thousands of bee’s.

I did an inspection after this “swarm” and everything seemed to be normal.

Any idea what caused them to leave the hive and then return?

Thanks,
Dan

Did you shake bees off the frames? Are you sure that there are no queen cells? Sounds like a practice swarm, which means they will probably do a real one in the next week or less. :hushed:

1 Like

I did the inspection after they swarmed from the hive. This hive is only a month old. Received a Nuc end April.

After the bee’s calmed down, I did my inspection. I saw no queen cells - Hive is new, about 2 months old.

I still need to know whether you saw queen cells in the brood box. Do you have an 8 frame or 10 frame brood box? How full is it? Do you have any photos? It is very hard to help you without knowing what you have seen inside the hive. I want to help you, and I am sure many others on this Forum will too, but we just don’t have enough to go on at this point. :blush:

If you don’t know what queen cells look like, here is a nice leaflet:
http://www.wbka.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/wbka-booklet-english-PDF.pdf

Edit - my message posted seconds after your follow-up :blush: :-
Ah OK, if there really are no queen cells, then the behavior is very difficult to understand. Nurse bees are extremely good at hiding queen cells, so unless you shake them off each frame (or smoke them back and forth), you will find it very hard to be sure that there were none.

How full was the brood box?

2 Likes

Thanks, but I saw no queen cells. I have a 10 frame brood box, 6 out of 10 frames are almost full.
The bee’s are busy bringing in pollen. As I said this is a new hive, 2 months old.