Preparing for 1st Swarm

Hi everyone! I hope this isn’t a double up question but I can’t find quite the help I am after, though I am sure it’s somewhere in the forums.
So, I have one flow hive which I got last spring. The colony is doing awesome and I am preparing for a swarm, which seems to be what they do yearly. I am due to receive my second flow hive in a couple weeks. So, my question is, what is the best was to go about dealing with the potential swarm? I am a newbie, so forgive my poor bee language or my lack of knowledge.
Should I split my current hive and leave the queen where she is, and buy a new queen to add to my new flow hive? Should I pop the queen along with several existing frames into the new flow hive and if so when? As I don’t want to leave my existing hive queenless.

Also, I would rather not have to take my existing hive to another location, If possible.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! I don’t want to wreck this or loose my little bees! Thanks everyone.
Carly :+1:t3::slightly_smiling_face:

Hi Carly and welcome to the forum! Yes, the bees will swarm every year in spring once the colony is large enough. It’s just how they reproduce. You can do a split to pre-empt a swarm, but the timing is important - as in your query:

If you’re in time to make a split, you definitely want to take your existing queen with it since she’s the one who would leave the hive with a portion of the workers as a swarm. As you’ll read, if she has been laying well, there will be young larvae for the workers to choose from in order to make a new queen.

Rather than describe the different timing scenarios and options, I found this thread for you - the Wally Shaw swarm prevention booklet in it might seem like a lot to get through, but is a must-read for comprehensive practical swarm guidance: