Queen bee flew off from the hive

Hi everyone… I am new to bee keeping. Today I was checking on one of my haive. Then queen fall off … so I was trying to pick her up and put her back to haive… she jut flew a way from the haive …
So I am not sure what to do now… is any thoughts and advice please… ?

1 Like

Well there’s a chance that if she laid eggs prior to her departure than the bees will make a new queen. You can also order a queen depending where you live and what season your in to replace the one you lost. There’s not enough details in your post in regards to the season your in etc.

Hey @rua_Na maybe you have a virgin queen who needs to fly out each day for mating flights. Tell us more about the colony and how it started? Do you know if the queen was mated already, and if so, that the queen you saw is the same or perhaps a supercedure queen (which would be a virgin)?

Also, are you totally sure it was a queen honey bee you saw…some new beekeepers have been known to mistake a drone for a queen, or even a totally different species like a wasp…

1 Like

Oh dear, when you are checking on brood frames always have it over the brood box so that if she falls off she will fall into the brood box.
If it was the queen and not a drone that flew off then she has gone. The colony will produce a new queen and should be laying eggs in about 4 weeks so it isn’t the ‘end of the world’. Sometimes a virgin queen on her mating flight can become food for a bird and if that happen then the easy option is to buy a queen if that happens and introduce her into the hive. There are queen breeders in the Byron area.
Cheers

1 Like