Queen hatching - advice please

So I’m very new to beekeeping and been given a beautiful lot of bees, on two of the brood frame they are breeding a new queen, (I’m told not necessarily a bad thing as original queen may be old (brood frames are still full packed with bees tho) I’ve been told if new queen hatches she will destroy others and old queen will leave hive with a third of the bees,
thoughts please
would set up a bait hive but have no old bee brood frames etc to entice them it would be all new hive material

1 Like

Stick up pic of what your suggesting are queen cells.

Anything in them or are they capped?

sorry not near the hive, but were told by a bee keeper they were, looked like a peanut shape to me hahaon the edge of brood frame, squashed one and had larvae in it

Hi Jen, does your colony have a queen? she might have got squashed or the bees may have balled her a few days ago during an inspection. Those queen cells could be emergency queens in the making.

the ‘peanut shell’ is totally indicative of a queen cell and I am sure that’s what you have. How many were there? Where are they? Cells on the walls of frames- and only a few- are likely emergency cells. Cells on the bottom and side edges of frames- and a lot- (6 to 12 maybe) are definitely swarm cells. If the hive is jam packed with bees- and there are multiple queen cells - then I would say without any hesitation your hive is about to swarm- literally any day now. Probably tomorrow… If you have a lot- and you don’t want to make a split- I would probably go in there and kill off most of them leaving the best two or three. Even if you do that the hive may still swarm- but it will probably only swarm once instead of two or three times.