Queen marking and finding

Hi. I’m new to bee keeping and would like people’s opinion on queen marking. I struggle to find my unmarked queens and it can be time consuming to find her. How long should you spend looking for her? If you cannot find her how do you work your frames? I have a frame hanger that fits into the side of the hive. I am concerned that if I was to hang a frame that has the queen on it that I could lose her.
Should I mark my queens? How do you do that? Concerned I would squash her.

I could not find other posts on this topic. I appreciate everyone’s advice.

I have never had marked queens. You get better with practice, however they can be quite elusive at times. You never need to spot the queen during an inspection, unless you specifically need to for some reason. The state of the brood is all I’m normally concerned about. Healthy BIAS (brood in all stages) is all I’m looking for.

As long as we place the brood frame down so no bees get squashed, the queen should be ok. Use your smoker to move bees away before replacing frames, always helps in reducing casualties. Plus remove any burr comb from frames that is likely to squash bees upon return.

4 Likes

I only take out one outer frame from a box when inspecting. The queen is unlikely to be on it, i then just shuffle the frames across and move them back at the end. Haven’t lost a queen that I know of yet.

When inspecting check for a good brood pattern and not the queen. Inspections will be quicker and less invasive that way.

Cheers
Rob.

4 Likes

Great thanks. Botha hives have brood in varies stages. However one Queen is still laying sporadically. I think it is because she is still new to laying. I got that new nuc a month ago. But she is laying.

Thank you for all your answers. Happy for more.