Queen question in honey bound hive

Hello.
I am new to beekeeping this year. I live in Northern Idaho. After a strong start to spring, we experienced about 2 weeks of temps in the 50s(and sometimes below). When the weather broke, I did a hive inspection and noticed a decrease larvae and capped brood. That trend continued, and I saw several uncapped queen cells. Additionally, the honey stores were growing. Last week, since the brood chamber seemed to be full of honey, I added a honey super and moved a couple of frames of comb into the center of the brood nest. In today’s inspection I hoped to see some brood in the new comb, but I just saw more honey. There is also a capped queen cell. I first thought the problem was it was just honey bound. Then today I thought perhaps it was queenless. But before I finished the inspection I saw the queen so I am a bit confused. Are they preparing to swarm, or are they replacing a non-laying queen, or is the queen I saw possibly a new queen who isn’t laying yet. HELP!

Where are the queen cells located? This will indicate if it’s a supersede cell or a swarm cell.

If you have indeed spotted a virgin queen (do we call them princess??? :joy: ), then you’ll need to let nature take it’s course. She is probably waiting for the right weather conditions to take a mating flight.

Any larvae on your last inspection?

Seems like adding extra frames was good idea.

Any photos?

1 Like

True, it is often said that a single Queen cell in the middle of a frame is indicative of supercedure and multiple Queen cells at the tops and bottoms of frames is an indication of swarming.
Its a reasonable indication but its not totally reliable.