SHB concerns from a newbie

Hi again all, Im very new to beekeeping. I am very concerned about the number of SHBs Ive found in the oil in my bottom board.

Twice when I have opened the side window on the flow framas Ive seen them scurrying around (chased by my beautiful bees) but I only changed the oil yesterday and was astonished to find about 60 dead ones in the oil in just 24 hours.

How do I control these hideous pests and how can I prevent the chance for them to become a potential problem again in the future? my bees are in a bush setting at the rear of my house on a cement foundation.

I would also.like to know where I should be safely disposing of that old oil - and whether I should be treating the area around the hive with a vinegar salt spray to kill them off?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

A hive that is low in bee numbers is very vulnerable to SHB infestation. I use a watering can with a mix of vinegar, table salt and water to soak the soil under and around my hives and I am sure that doing that has been a big help.
In a hive low in bee number, like after a split, I fit the plastic traps that sit between the brood frames. Make the effort to remove any dead bees from the hive as SHB will lay eggs in the bodies of squashed or dead bees.
Normally in a strong hive the bees will control SHB and you will never be free of them in a hive, but from your numbers I would be looking for something extra to beet them. The numbers seem to reduce in the cooler/drier months but they can explode in numbers very fast.
Cheers

Thanks Peter, my bee population is thriving. However, I know the risks these pests bring and I don’t want that to change. I have ordered some of those beetle traps to place in my brood frames. Do they pose any risk or damage to the bees? I read something about mould in them - I assume people put a small amount of water in them.