SHB Larvae infestation!...Now What?

I spilt my bees this year and had to re-queen the split about a month ago because the queen was gone and there was no brood or eggs; just boards mostly full of honey and very little room for new eggs. So I re-queened. I was told to leave the box alone for several weeks. I just went in to find most every frame and all over the box covered in crawling larvae! Gross. I assume this is SHB larvae.
Being a new bee keeper I do not know what to immediately do. I have been searching the forum and googling and see answers like add clean boards and brood from another box…I don’t have any to spare from my other hive either since I’m new to this as of last year. Also reading to wrap the infested frames in plastic and freeze them…well I have no room in my little freezer to do that with 1 frame much less 20 from the double brood boxes.
I can’t just leave it sit as it is right next to my other box, (the Flow frame box and super) and I imagine they will infest that one soon if not already even though it is stronger.

So what do I do? How do I clean up or otherwise clean up all the frames full of wriggling larvae?

See a few pics attached.

Also my other hive, the FlowHive, the supers have several boards that are not full but capped and look really clean and normal. Can I safely harvest them or could they have SHB larvae in them that cannot be seen? I’d like to get that honey extracted before it could possibly get ruined. I’m not sure the consequences of harvesting infested honey.

Freeze those frames for several days and re-use. They don’t look that bad. Unless you have chickens, they love to feast on those worms :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Nick, it’s not as easy as putting the frames in the freezer for a few days. The bees don’t like working on comb after SHB contamination.

#1. Urgently avoid as many larvae reaching the ground as possible. That’s where they will complete their life cycle & turn into more beetles.