The Queen is dead - Long live the Queen

I bought 2 queens from a bee supplier recently for 2 new splits I’ve started. When i viewed the queens in their cage I was surprised at how small they were. I’m pretty new to this but to me they looked like virgin queens as they were only slightly larger then the attendants.

I added the queens to the hives and then checked back in 3 days. They hadn’t been released yet so I released them myself.

I’ve now inspected the hives approx 2 weeks after initial install. I located the queen in one hive and it was considerably larger, I’m guessing if I was sold a virgin queen it’s then done its mating flights and its ready to lay. I couldnt find any eggs or larvae but its possible I’ve missed it.

In the second hive - same again - queen was now considerably larger. Couldn’t find any eggs - but did find 4-5 finished queen cells. Have they rejected their queen? I put the queen in a queen clip and laid it on top of the frames and they didnt seem to be paying her too much attention. I’m not sure about removing the queen cells without evidence that the queen is laying.

What might be the best approach here?

Hi Matt, I’m wondering if the colony is preparing to swarm.
Obviously the colony hasn’t rejected the queen, otherwise you wouldn’t find her alive.
One thing you could do is split that split with the queen in one portion, & the queen cells in the other portion.
It would be my understanding that the purchased queens would be mated & laying fertile eggs.
The other thing is that queens that are not laying eggs will look smaller than a queen that is full on laying eggs, on account of the food she’s fed, coupled with the eggs developing in her abdomen.

Hi Jeff.

The colony with the queen cells (with the installed queen) has covered 3 frames in a 10 frame brood box. Would they still swarm with so much room to grow?