What happens if the bees outgrow the Flow Hive?

Hi everyone! Newbie here but I am pretty excited about the Flow Hive!

Recently a colony of bees moved into our hot tub. We just had a local beekeeper safely remove the colony and will take care of them now. In the process of this we learned a lot about the bees and also about Flow Hive. We would love to set up a Flow Hive when it’s available and have the bees back, just not in the hot tub this time, ha ha.

In the process of removing the bees from the hot tub we noticed that there was quite a lot of them. Maybe even more than what could fit into a Flow Hive but that’s from an untrained point of view, maybe they would all fit.

I guess my question is what happens if you outgrow one Flow Hive? Do you put a second one next to the original one? Or do you stack everything and have two brood boxes and two supers?

Thanks!
Rich

1 Like

You hit it on the head Rich,
The bees know when its time and will swarm. If your bees are growing rapidly you can put on a second brood and add extra supers. Some hives can be 4 or even 5 boxes high. If you want to create a second colony if they are doing really well, the hive can be split. There would be a whole new thread needed for splitting.

4 Likes

Very cool! Makes sense but I figured it was worth asking. Also wanted to make sure that if I got the Flow Hives that they could expand as needed.

Thanks!
Rich

Gotcha, makes sense. I live in Florida, we don’t really have a harsh winter. How much honey do bees typically need for the winter?

Thanks!

Very cool. I guess the hardest part will be resisting the temptation to harvest too much with these cool flow frames, ha ha. Just let them settle in and see how they behave so they’re nice and healthy. I’ll have to connect with local guys and see what they say as well.

1 Like